Colorful Crystal


with Cat Mead

Drop into space to connect, ground yourself and find a complete sense of balance in an out-of-balance world.

If you've been feeling a little off-balance, living from your head instead of your heart, this 5-part Online Yin Yoga Series is exactly the thing you need.

Using specific long-held yin yoga poses designed to access, notice and connect with each of your Chakras, or centres of energy, these classes give you space and time to sit with yourself, to get your energy moving well and to release ‘stuff’ you don’t need to hold anymore.

Giving yourself this space to connect, settle and surrender your need for control allows you to drop into your parasympathetic nervous system. The part of you that promotes rest, healing and digestion.

You will feel more connected to yourself, refreshed, recharged and you might just find that you have had the capacity to heal yourself all along.

This content of this 5-part series is available NOW and you can practice it in your own time, as many times as you like. It has no expiry, no time limits, and you can practice the classes in any order.

Read on below to find out more about each Chakra.

Image by Felix Mittermeier

1. Muladhara (Base)

In this sequence we connect with the base of our spine. We come into a space of grounding and deep connectedness with nature, earth and our wider collective. This is where we find stability and balance and establish our connection.

If you are feeling uneasy in your body, if something just doesn't feel quite right, maybe there's a sense of disconnection, then balancing your base chakra can help you to ground and to come back home to your body and all that is.

Image by Ermelinda Martín

2. Svadisthana (Sacral)

Moving up into our Sacral Chakra your connection point is the space just below your navel. In this deeply calming practice we work most specifically with our kidneys and adrenal glands to bring balance into our emotions, our sense of relationship and pleasure.


We’ll take this time to sit within our darkness (or discomfort) and allow it to be flooded with light. 

Image by Adam Wilson

3. Manipura (Solar Plexus)

Your third chakra is Manipura, located at or just above your navel. This is where your fire lives, your personal power. We will work on poses that aid in digestion and will begin to open up the front of your body so that we can in turn live open lives.


By doing this you can increase your vitality and therefore your connection to self.

Image by Tim Mossholder

4. Anahata (Heart)

The chakra that needs no introduction, the heart.


It’s time to allow yourself to feel unconditional love. Allow yourself to feel connected to nature, pleasure, power and the vulnerability of it all.


Connecting with your heart chakra teaches you that you don’t always need to use your mind or thoughts to protect your heart. It is protected. You can allow it to be open, flourishing and expanding its compassion outwards, knowing that you are safe to do so.

Image by Harry Quan

5. Vishuddha / Ajna / Sahasrara

Beginning with an opening through your throat (Vishuddha), this practice will allow you space to purify the body & mind so that you can breathe, communicate and express yourself.

Your third-eye (Ajna) chakra, located between our brows, allows you to drop into an intuitive space so that you can bring a balance to your brain and senses, connecting you with higher consciousness.

Finally, your crown (Sahasrara) chakra is located just above the crown of our head. With a deep sense of balance and safety, you can feel grounded so that you can take a deep exploration of source, your energetic body and beyond. You may feel a sense of inner understanding and deep connection allowing a feeling of peace and calm.

About Cat Mead

Cat has been teaching yoga in Newcastle for over 5 years. For the past year her focus has been on sharing her love of yin yoga with weekly classes, 3hr immersions and she is in the midst of developing some continuing education courses in Yin for avid students and yoga teachers alike.