top of page
  • The Open Mind Space

The Eight Limbs of Yoga

In the Yoga Sutras of Patanjali, there is defined the eight limbs of yoga.

It is said that 'by the practice of the limbs of Yoga, the impurities dwindle away and there dawns the light of wisdom, leading to discriminative discernment'.⁠ ⁠

As we know, yoga is not just the poses we practice on the mat, it's also meditation, breathwork and the way we live our life.⁠

These are the eight limbs of yoga:⁠ ⁠

🌿 Yama (abstinence)⁠

🌿 Niyama (observance)⁠

🌿 Asana (posture practice)⁠

🌿 Pranayama (breath control)⁠

🌿 Dharana (concentration)⁠

🌿 Dhyana (meditation)⁠

🌿 Samadhi (absorption)⁠ ⁠

There's a lot of big words there, so we're going to leave it at that for this post. But keep your eyes on our feed as over the coming weeks we go deeper into what each of these eight limbs consist of ✨


Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page