2nd Limb of Yoga: Niyamas

We’ve been through the Yamas, now it’s time we turn our attention to the Niyamas. These are the 2nd limb described in Patanjali’s 8 Limbs of Yoga.

The Niyamas can be thought of as inner observances which can be used to help us to build discipline and character. In his book ‘Light on Yoga’, Iyengar calls these rules of conduct that apply to an individual, as opposed to the Yamas which are ethical disciplines and rules for the morality of a society as a whole. You can, of course, take the word ‘rules’ with a grain of salt.

The 5 Niyamas are:

🌿 Saucha (purity/cleanliness)

🌿 Santosha (contentment)

🌿 Tapas (discipline)

🌿 Svadhyaya (self-study)

🌿 Isvara Pranidhana (surrender to a higher power)

If you want to learn more about these Niyamas, we have more info on its way in future posts. Stay tuned! 🌿

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

31 Belford St

Broadmeadow NSW

Tel: 02 4031 8784


© 2020

Website proudly created by Cat Mead.

  • The Open Mind Space Facebook
  • The Open Mind Space Instagram
5 out of 5 star google reviews

We acknowledge the Awabakal people, the original custodians of the land in which we on which we live and work each day, and pay our respects to Elders past, present and emerging. 

This business is LGBTQA+ friendly and we support people with disabilities to access our services.