top of page
  • The Open Mind Space

Yoga Philosophy: Yamas

Let's look at the first limb of yoga: Yamas.⁠

The Yamas can be thought of as 'moral restraints' and contains 5 practices known as:⁠ ⁠

✨ Ahimsa (non-violence/harming)⁠

✨ Satya (truthfulness)⁠

✨ Asteya (non-stealing)⁠

✨ Brahmacharya (continence/right use of energy)⁠

✨ Aparigraha (non-coveting/greed)⁠ ⁠

In the Yoga Sutras of Patanjali, it is said that 'these great vows are universal, not limited by class, place, time, or circumstances'.⁠ ⁠

Observing the Yamas is not something we only do on our yoga mat. These practices were meant to be observed in our everyday lives and our on-the-mat yoga practice can help us to be more mindful in order to do this. ⁠

We'll be going into each of these Yamas in more detail in future posts. Stay tuned for the next yoga philosophy post where we'll have a deeper look at the first Yama: Ahimsa.⁠ ⁠

Also, tell us: what do you most want to know? ⚡

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page